Leadership Council:

The Leadership Council of the MTC consists of the five officers of the Executive Board (elected), the Committee/SIG Chairs (appointed), and up to five Physicians-at-Large (appointed). The Leadership Council is responsible for strategic planning and implementation of goals for the organization according to its mission, vision, and values. The Leadership Council meets at least twice a year. For more details, see link to our Bylaws, below.

Leadership Council Meetings and Resources (members only)


Executive Board

The Executive Board serves as a steering committee for the Leadership Council and governs, provides organizational direction, and manages the day-to-day business and affairs of the Coalition. The Executive Board meets at least 4 times a year. For more details, see link to our Bylaws, below.


Erica Surman, BSN, RN, TCRN
Pediatric Trauma Program Manager
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak


Amy A. Randall, MSN, RN, TCRN
Pediatric Trauma Program Manager
University of Michigan
C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital, Ann Arbor


Melissa Cunningham, MSN, RN, CEN, TCRN
Trauma Program Manager
McLaren Port Huron
EMAIL Melissa


Marleen Nowakowski, RN, BSN, MBA
Trauma Program Manager
McLaren Macomb, Mt. Clemens
EMAIL Marleen


Karrie Brown, MSN, RN, TCRN
Trauma Program Manager
Ascension St. John Hospital, Detroit
EMAIL Karrie


Physician Members-at-Large

The Physician Council Members-at-Large help to build engagement among trauma physicians and the MTC as a whole, broaden the perspectives on the Leadership Council, open greater opportunity for dialogue, and share expertise and skills.

(Mustafa) Mark Hamed, MD, MBA, MPH, FAAFP, FAEMS
Associate EMS Medical Director- Sanilac EMS
Trauma and Emergency Department Medical Director
McKenzie Health System – Sandusky

Tjasa Hranjec, MD, MS-CR, FACS
Trauma/Critical Care;
Bronson Health, Kalamazoo

David Komasara, DO, FACEP, ACOEP
Medical Director
Hills and Dales General Hospital, Cass City

Benjamin Mosher, MD, FACS
MSU Assistant Professor Health Programs
Trauma Medical Director
Sparrow Hospital, Lansing

Peter Perakis, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Trauma Medical Director
Corewell Health Beaumont Hospital, Troy


Committee Chairs:

Committee Information

Compliance Committee
Chris Baker MSN, RN, CEN
Trauma Program Manager
McLaren Flint – Flint

Education Committee
Dawn Cloutier, BSN, RN
Trauma Program
McLaren Oakland – Pontiac

Injury Prevention Committee
Nancy Butty
Coordinator, Trauma Prevention
Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital – Rochester

Legislative Advocacy & Outreach Committee
Laura Walker, RN, BSN, EMT, CFRN
Trauma Education and Outreach Injury Prevention Specialist
Covenant Healthcare – Saginaw

Mentoring Program Committee
Donna Gunning RN BSN CEN
Quality Improvement RN
Corewell William Beaumont University Hospital – Royal Oak

Pediatric Committee
Pamela Kammer, BSN, RN
Pediatric Trauma Program Manager and Gift of Life
Hurley Medical Center – Flint

Registrar’s Committee
Cecilia Roiter, RHIT, CAISS, CSTR
Clinical Information Analyst
University of Michigan Health – Ann Arbor

Research Committee
Tjasa Hranjec, MD, MS-CR
Trauma/CC Surgery, Bronson Methodist Hospital

Rural Committee
Dana D. Yarger, RN, BSN, EMT‐P
Trauma Program Manager
Corewell Health Pennock – Hastings

Web Site Workgroup
Christine Wright RN, BSN
Trauma Clinical Coordinator
Henry Ford Hospital – Detroit



Administrative Assistant

Sue Levandoski, CHC
[email protected]


Bylaws March 2023

History of Officers

Elections and Other Voting (members only)