Michigan’s Trauma Regions

Michigan Trauma Coalition region map

There are 8 trauma regions in Michigan’s trauma system. For details about the the regions and Regional Trauma Coordinator contacts, go to the following MDHHS Trauma System page. The 8 regions are as follows –

South Central Region (1): Includes Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Hillsdale, Ingham, Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, and Shiawasee Counties.

South East South Region (2s): Includes Monroe, Washtenaw, and Wayne Counties.

South East North Region (2n): Includes Macomb, Oakland, and St. Clair Counties.

East Central Region (3): Includes Alcona, Arenac, Bay, Genesee, Gladwin, Huron, Iosco, Lapeer, Midland, Ogemaw, Sagainaw, Sanilac, and Tuscola Counties.

South West Region (5): Includes Allegan, Barry, Berien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren Counties.

West Central Region (6): Includes Clare, Ionia, Isabella, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, and Ottowa Counties.

North Central Region (7): Includes Alpena, Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee, Missaukee, Montmorency, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, and Wexford.

Upper Peninsula Region (8): Includes Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontangon, and Schoolcraft Counties.


For information about how to contact your Regional Trauma Coordinator, click HERE.